They & Me

they and me

Through the tinted glasses

they can only see my profile

they see the sleek body of the vehicle

waxed and glistening

whisk me away

 

They imagine

the softness of the leather seats

cushioning me

they envy the soft light inside

creating a magical aura

Yet they don’t know

that I sit inside

this luxurious setting

lonely and miserable

yearning for lost love

 

They don’t know that

I will trade all this wealth

for one afternoon under a tree

to sit beside you

to walk with you

to hold your hand

 

They don’t know the pain

they don’t see the suffering

they only see an image of me

and they all wish to be me

while I wish to be free

2 thoughts on “They & Me

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

